The Valerie Kelly Award

The Valerie Kelly Award

The Valerie Kelly Award is a beautiful piece of Genesis Sculpture presented to Boher N.S. by Ronan Kelly to commemorate his sister, Valerie, who taught in the school from September 1993 until her untimely death on August 27th 2000. The piece “Spirit of the Earth” was chosen by Ronan and will remain in the school as a tribute to Valerie. At the inauguration of “The Valerie Kelly Award” on 12th May 2001, Ronan expressed the wish that his sister’s spirit be kept alive in the school. We can assure him that this will be so.

The Valerie Kelly Award has been presented every year since to a student who has excelled in the Arts area of the curriculum. A smaller piece of Genesis is presented to the overall winner and the winner’s name recorded on “Spirit of the Earth.”

The winners to date are:

  • 2002: Meryl Clarke
  • 2003: Stephanie Kelly
  • 2004: Joanne Murray
  • 2005: Torstan Murphy
  • 2006: Arlene Moran
  • 2007: Barry McCormack
  • 2008: James Killian
  • 2009: Seán Connolly
  • 2010: Caoimhe Kelly
  • 2011: Maggie Connolly
  • 2012: Eoin Kelly
  • 2013: Émer Killian

We in Boher N.S. thank Ronan for his generosity and continued involvement in The Valerie Kelly Award.